Pumpkin and Indian Paleo Chicken

OK, I sort of have an issue with using the word “Indian” as an adjective in this manner.  It is ambiguous.  Allow me to elucidate.

My friend, who is Indian (from India), and I were discussing hair conditioners.  She tells me, “you need to get some Indian oil.”  Me:  “Um, what?  The oil of Indians?”  Really, “Indian oil” could mean just about anything (she meant coconut oil,  y’all, and it really does work).

“Indian” is not too accurate a cuisine descriptor, either.  India is a large country with influences from Africa, Portugal, and Asia (and one day maybe I’ll even do a post on Native American Indian cooking – fry bread, Indian tacos, bison, planked salmon, marionberries, yummm).  Anyway, if I knew much more about India Indian cooking, I’d tell you now.  But I don’t.  So I am just going to live with the name of this dish being Pumpkin and Indian Paleo Chicken.

Pumpkin and Indian Paleo Chicken

Susan and I have started another “Whole 30” plan, so I am working to get some meals made ahead.

Here’s what is cool about this recipe.  I found it on the Google recipe finder.  This lets you type in keywords and narrow the results by, for instance, what you may happen to already have in the pantry.  I had canned pumpkin and chicken, so I decided to give this a try!

Modifications:  This recipe instructs, “If you’re not doing paleo, add some salt,” which is inexplicable to me.  A whole foods / paleo diet contains way less sodium than the average french fry and chips diet.  In fact, when I am strict, I sometimes suspect I am not getting enough sodium.  I’m not a doctor, but I have a friend who was once on a low-salt diet, and her sodium levels got so low she passed out, smacked her head, and had to go to the hospital!  So, reasoning that I don’t want to go to the hospital, I add some salt to most food.  But I do keep an eye on salt in ingredients and used low-sodium broth for this.

I also added a bunch of fresh, organic spinach at the end because it is beautiful, and I think food should be green!  This is photographed below with riced cauliflower and collard greens.

This was an easy and tasty dish.  Give it a try, or check your own pantry and try your hand at the Google recipe finder!

  


Leave a comment