Grilled Sirloin with a Coffee Bean – Peppercorn Crust

Grilled Sirloin with

a Coffee Bean-Peppercorn Crust

Hello – Susan here and this is my first test recipe.  Boy, did I luck out!

What I liked:  This steak’s flavor was really good.  It is the first steak I have had in a while that I did not want to pour A1 Sauce all over.  It was pretty easy to prepare and there were several steps you could do well ahead of time.  You do not have to marinate the steaks, which I appreciate because I don’t always plan my meals that far ahead – I try, but still…  I also really liked that there is a sauce to pour over the slices to keep the steak nice and moist, because honestly, I usually overcook meat.  Also, I bet the left over steak would rock a spinach salad.

What I did not like:  There is no real way that you could make this and freeze it which is a shame because there is not much better than popping a frozen dish in the oven and calling it a night.  The price is not super expensive on this dish, but it is not a cheapy meal either.  We paid about ten bucks for sirloin steaks at Target (grass fed organic beef would be much better I’m sure, but it will cost you more) and easily got three oversized servings out of it.

Okay, here is the recipe.  I found it at the Eating Well website: http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/grilled_sirloin_with_a_coffee_bean_peppercorn_crust.html

                                                                                                                                                     Ingredients:

–      2 small garlic cloves

–      ¼ teaspoon kosher salt, plus more to taste

–      2 tablespoons strong freshly brewed coffee

–      2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

–      Freshly ground black pepper to taste

–      2 tablespoons whole coffee beans (not flavored)

–      2 teaspoons whole black peppercorns

–      1 1-pound beef sirloin steak (about 1 inch thick), trimmed of fat

–      1 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil

Preparation:

1.) Smash and peel 1 of the garlic cloves.  Sprinkle with ¼ teaspoon salt and mash into a paste with a chef’s knife (I used the back of a fork).  Transfer to a small bowl and whisk in brewed coffee (I used Starbuck’s Sumatra) and vinegar.  Season with ground pepper and set the vinaigrette aside

2.) Place coffee beans and peppercorns on a cutting board; coarsely crush with the bottom of a heavy pan. Mix the crushed coffee beans and peppercorns together and set aside.

3.) Cut the remaining clove of garlic in half and rub the cut side over both sides of the steak.  Rub oil over the surface and coat with the coffee-peppercorn mixture, pressing it into the meat.

4.) Salt the steak and grill until it reaches desired doneness, 4 to 5 minutes per side for medium rare

5.) Transfer the steak to a clean cutting board and let it rest for a few minutes before carving into thin slices across the grain.  Fan the meat on plates and drizzle with the reserved vinaigrette.

I hope you enjoy this steak as much as I did.  Please let me know what you think!

One response to “Grilled Sirloin with a Coffee Bean – Peppercorn Crust

  • ellensister

    I actually enjoyed this recipe with Susan and it was delightful. Very spicy and paired with a full red wine……yum yum! I will make this one this summer. It would be good over a salad of spinach and bitter greens.

Leave a Reply

