Carrot Cake Pancakes – Get In My Belly!

The negative:  these pancakes contain almonds, walnuts, raisins, and lots of coconut oil.  Plus then I added butter and maple syrup.  I didn’t exactly work out the Weight Watchers points on these, but it can’t be good.  Luckily, I’m not afraid of a little fat!

Another negative:  These are not weekday morning pancakes.  While I was shredding the carrots by hand, I lost faith that these would be worth it at all.  Note:  one cup of shredded carrots doesn’t sound like a lot, but it is a PITA, so use the food processor.  These are worth a little trouble, though.

The recipe was easy to follow.  I made only one adjustment – I don’t like coconut flour, so I don’t have any.  I substituted a little extra almond meal.

The recipe is from PaleOMG, which is one of the sites I regularly read for food ideas.  You’ll probably see more from PaleOMG soon.  Here is the link:

http://paleomg.com/paleo-carrot-cake-pancakes/

The pancakes were cakey and tender.  They did not need syrup.  In truth, they didn’t use that much almond meal.  I regularly make blueberry pancakes with twice that much almond meal per serving.  I slightly burned two of them, because the carrots had a bit higher sugar content than I’m used to in a pancake, so watch out.

Loved this recipe!  Here it is before and after, served with nitrate-free chicken sausage.

 

2 responses to “Carrot Cake Pancakes – Get In My Belly!

Leave a Reply

