Sweet Potato, Asparagus, and Mushroom Hash

ImageGood Eeevening (in my spookiest Friday the 13th voice!).  This recipe makes for a great breakfast!  A watch-out-world-here-I-come kind of breakfast!  Oh, this was a pleasure to make!  I love vegetables and whenever I can eat them for breakfast, I feel like I am getting extra credit!   I’ve no negative comments to make about this recipe, just some cautions.  I usually cook in a cast iron skillet so I try to cook on a lower setting so as to not over cook my food as the skillet gets really hot and stays really hot even after the burner is off.  However while cooking the veggies, turning the stove to less than medium heat, I actually ended up OVER cooking them.  They just got soft and soggy initially, not brown and I had to turn up the heat to finish them.  By this time, they were overdone.  Next time, I’ll heed the instructions.  Another thing I really appreciated from this recipe is that the potatoes are partially cooked before they are fried. Thank you very much!  This is such a helpful tip as all too often the outside of the potatoes is near burned while the inside is still too firm when the potatoes are just cut up and fried.

This recipe harks from the previously cited Eating Well magazine, April 2010 issue.  Again, I paleo-ized it myself.   I used olive oil but I’ll bet that coconut oil would be awesome.  Also I served a fried egg over the hash….true to southern form.

Ingredients:

1 pound sweet potatoes, scrubbed and chopped into 1/2 inch pieces

3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided

1 bunch asparagus, trimmed and cut in 1 inch pieces

4 ounces mushrooms, sliced

I small onion, coarsely chopped.

1/2 cup chopped jarred roasted red peppers, chopped

1 tablespoon minced fresh sage

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper

Fresh chopped chives for garnish if desired

1.  The original recipe called for the potatoes to be steamed in a steamer basket.  I however have a little microwave trick for this.  I spread the potato chunks on a plate and cover with a very moist (almost soggy) wet paper towel.  Microwave on high for about 2 to 4 minutes until all pieces are soft in the center when pierced with a toothpick.

2.  Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a large (not nonstick) skillet over medium heat.  Add asparagus, mushrooms, and garlic and cook, stirring often, until beginning to brown, 5 to 7 minutes.  Remove to a plate.

3.  Add the remaining 2 tablespoons oil to the pan.  Add onion and the potatoes and cook, stirring occasionally and scraping up the browned bits with a metal spatula, until the potatoes are browned, 4 to 8 minutes.  Return the asparagus mixture to the pan along with roasted red pepper, sage, salt and pepper; cook, stirring, until heated through, about 1 more minute.  Serve sprinkled with chives if desired.

2 responses to “Sweet Potato, Asparagus, and Mushroom Hash

Leave a Reply

