Bonus Post: Grinding Meat at Home

Yes, you read the title correctly.  This post is not for the faint of heart!

I was a vegetarian for five years.  And one of the reasons was, I distrust the American meat industry.  And I distrust the American government to regulate it.  E Coli.  Mad Cow disease.  Eww.

I’m not even going to use the “s” word in this post, but I am sure you are well aware of it.

So it was tough for me to start eating meat again.  But my body needed it, and I have to admit, re-introducing meat to my diet was the single best nutrition decision I have ever made.

Even so, I have some high standards when it comes to meat quality.

Years ago, someone gave me this as a gift:

During all those years as a vegetarian, I never even took this thing out of the box.  But recently, a friend of mine showed me how to use it, and I decided to give it a try.

My goal:  ground beef from a single cut of meat.

It is easier than you’d think.  Here’s how you do it:

   

If you are viewing these photos carefully, you will notice this steak is actually *sirloin*, and you may be thinking, wow, that lady is either rich or insane!  It’s what I had in the freezer, okay?  I couldn’t eat it as steak, because I had my braces tightened, hence the grinding.  I hope that explanation is less insane!

A couple of additional comments:  The grinder completely comes apart so is easy to clean.  It seems safe to use, but the lawyer in me needs to remind people this machine is designed to grind meat, and you are meat.  So keep it unplugged when changing plates and so forth.  I ground the steak twice for a finer grind.  The whole process, from assembly to clean-up, took about 15 minutes.

What will this meat become?  Check in later!

One response to “Bonus Post: Grinding Meat at Home

Leave a Reply

