Scary Rosemary Squash

OK, I have a confession to make.   I have a fear of butternut squash.  Not of eating it, no.  I am scared of cutting it.

The skin is so thick, and the shape is so awkward, plus the squash is so big, I’m afraid of really cutting myself with my big chef’s knife while I try to cut up the squash.  So I’ve resorted to other options.

Option 1 (credit my friend Maggie):  Put your whole squash into a grocery bag, tie or staple it shut, then go out to your concrete patio and slam the bagged squash into the concrete.  The squash will break apart into pieces, which you then can clean out and bake in a water bath.  No cutting whatsoever.

Option 2:  Go ahead and use your chef knife to make four slow steady cuts vertically and horizontally through the squash, then clean and bake in water bath.  Minimal cutting.

When I have seen recipes involving cubed squash, or butternut squash fries, my response has always been “dream on.”  I keep my fingers safe.

But it would be nice to be able to enjoy butternut squash other in some other ways, so finally, I screwed up my courage and made this:

Rosemary Thyme Butternut Squash by Purely Primal

But first I googled “how to cut up a butternut squash” and reviewed this.  That helped.

Then I got to it.  The prep was surprisingly easy.  And of course it was delicious.

So it seems I have overcome my fear of squash!

    

4 responses to “Scary Rosemary Squash

Leave a Reply

