Cauliflower Rice

I had wanted to try this for sometime.  I had needed a base for several of my dishes and I missed being able to use rice.  I don’t miss all the mineral sucking phytate that is in brown rice, but I do miss the cozy bed that it used to make to tuck my tender main dishes into.  So, I had heard about this cauliflower “rice” mentioned frequently on Mark Sisson’s site (http://www.marksdailyapple.com/#axzz1suYnluSM) and have wanted to try it.  The original recipe hails from his Primal Blueprint Cookbook.   I served a tasty little pan-fried cod with sautéed red peppers over it and this rice held up really well.  It absorbed some of the pan drippin’s from the fish and was pretty darn convincing as “rice” goes.  The down side to this recipe is that it takes some work.  I ended up using a hand grater instead of a food processor to grate the cauliflower.  I didn’t think the processor was doing much more than pulverizing the cauliflower and making more of a mess than just doing it by hand.  So, it took a little while to get the job done, but I ended up with a more attractive “rice” than just a pile of mush.

Ingredients: 

1 head of cauliflower, grated for 1 or 2 cups (however much you will need)

Lots of Oil (i.e. organic butter, olive oil, or coconut oil depending upon your preference.

Lots of salt and pepper to taste.

Steam the riced cauliflower for just a few minutes until tender.  (I grated it directly into a glass bowl, covered it with a soaking wet paper towel, and microwaved it for 2-3 minutes.  Add lots of oil, salt, and pepper to taste.  I found it took lots as it is pretty bland just by itself.  Of course, these amount may vary depending upon what you plan to serve over it.

In the picture above, I served cod that had been gently pan-fried in olive oil and garlic, seasoned with salt and pepper.  The helpful chef that owns the natural food store close to us suggested just to fry it in a little butter so as to not overwhelm the subtle sweet taste of the meat.  But I love garlic (as I’ve mentioned before!) and prefer the strong overwhelming garlic taste on the cod!  It turned out great and I am looking forward to experimenting with this rice again.

5 responses to “Cauliflower Rice

  • Cookies! Apple Cinnamon Cookies! « paleosisters

    […] I see my role on this blog as filling in the gaps for Ellen and Susan.  Since they have families, they can’t just announce they are having popcorn for dinner.  I, on the other hand, love to cook, and I like to share, but I become quickly overwhelmed with leftovers.  For example, breakfast Sunday morning was leftover chicken tikka masala, leftover butternut squash, and yes, leftover cauliflower rice. […]

  • rachelsister

    Ellen, I am not a master, but I do use the food processor. I put raw cauliflower in, pulse it to “rice” size, then I stick it in water to boil (I am such a redneck, I don’t steam veggies). After about 2 minutes I strain it. I never add any fat at all to the “rice” and I think it tastes great. But I have learned, if you boil it BEFORE you put it in the food processor, you end up with cauliflower “mashed potatoes!” Your version sounds much tastier than how I do it!

  • rachelsister

    Guess I should also qualify that I really like the taste of plain, boiled cauliflower, so of course I like this dish without oil or salt or pepper!

  • vennah

    I too miss comfort of rice, and will certainly give this a try

Leave a Reply

