Cookies! Apple Cinnamon Cookies!

I see my role on this blog as filling in the gaps for Ellen and Susan.  Since they have families, they can’t just announce they are having popcorn for dinner.  I, on the other hand, love to cook, and I like to share, but I become quickly overwhelmed with leftovers.  For example, breakfast Sunday morning was leftover chicken tikka masala, leftover butternut squash, and yes, leftover cauliflower rice.

And I still have meatloaf in the freezer!

So my recipe for today is . . .  cookies!

Civilized Caveman’s Cinnamon Apple Cookies

The Positive:

It is an easy recipe with just a few limited ingredients.

  • 2 Cups Raw Almonds
  • 2 Cups Chopped Red Apples, skin on
  • 1 Cup Shredded Coconut Unsweetened
  • 1 Tbsp Cinnamon
  • 2 Tsp Vanilla
  • 2 Tsp Coconut Oil
  • 3 Eggs

Combine all ingredients, in the order listed, in a food processor.  (Note to my younger self, in case I have mastered time-travel.  YOU NEED A FOOD PROCESSOR.  It is well-worth the money.)  Paleo recipe authors never seem to list salt, but I added salt, too.  Use a spoon to make little cookie-sized cookies, and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

Easy, and I liked the use of apple, because I see enough paleo cookie recipes which are just really almond cookies.

The Not-So-Positive:

*I* thought these were yummy and just sweet enough.  However, I took them to a kick-ass dinner party (lobster tandoori!) and they did not go over so well with the general population.  If you are used to primal / paleo eating though, you will not miss the sugar.

  

I’ll make these again!

Leave a Reply

