Cuban Pork Lettuce Wraps Fail

Okay, I admit it.  This recipe might not be a fail for you, but it sure was for me.  You see, ever since I read the “Dexter” books, I have been craving a Cuban sandwich.  I know Dexter eats a sandwich or two in the television series, but trust me, in the books it is like every other chapter.  This recipe just made me realize that if I want a Cuban sandwich, I am going to have to go to Miami.

Image

What I liked:  The pork is good and it is nice to have a crock pot recipe every once in a while.

What I did not like:  It was messy to eat (like really messy), and I still am left with a slight tinge of disappointment.  I really need a Cuban sandwich.

Here is where I found the recipe.  I like (no, love) almost every single thing she posts, so that does make me think that maybe, just maybe, the problem with this recipe is me… http://paleomg.com/crockpotcuban-pork-lettuce-wraps/

Ingredients:

 

–         1 head of butter lettuce, washed

For the Pork

–         2 lb pork shoulder roast (I used boneless pork chops because they were on sale and were way less than a roast)

–         1 yellow onion, sliced

–         6 cloves of garlic, peeled

–         1 lime, juiced

–         1 orange, juiced and zested

–         1 tablespoon oregano

–         ½ teaspoon cumin

–         ½ cup vegetable broth

–         Salt and pepper to taste

For the Slaw

–         1 head of purple cabbage, sliced to thickness preference

–         5-6 dill pickles, sliced lengthwise

–         5-6 tablespoons yellow mustard (the kind you put on burgers, not the powder)

–         2 tablespoons olive oil

–         1 teaspoon white wine vinegar

–         Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

–          Add your pork ingredients to the Crockpot and cook on low for 6 to 8 hours

–          Add all your slaw ingredients into a large bowl, using as much mustard as suits your fancy.

–          Once your pork is done cooking, shred into bite size pieces

–          Place shredded pork and slaw into a leaf of butter lettuce and eat up.

 

Leave a Reply

