Red, White, and Blue Salad

Peace, everyone, and I hope you had a happy Independence day.  I ate some amazing barbeque ribs and lots of other amazing food prepared by some amazing friends, and I brought this to the party:

Red White & Blue Salad

  • Spinach
  • Blueberries
  • Sliced Strawberries
  • Toasted Pecans
  • Gorgonzola Cheese
  • Strawberry Vinaigrette

   

It’s my own recipe.  Okay, it isn’t much of a recipe, but it beautiful and gives me a chance to introduce you to one of my favorite things:  flavored vinegar.

I go to a local oil and vinegar shop (yes, there are such things) called Navidi’s Olive Oil and Vinegars.  Most of my relatives are familiar with Navidi’s, because they get vinegar for Christmas.  Navidi’s and similar specialty shops sell a variety of olive and nut oils, and about thirty flavors of balsamic vinegar – from Sicilian Lemon to Blackberry Ginger.  A word of caution:  Some balsamic vinegars have added sugar (Navidi’s purportedly does not), so read your labels.

I grew up in East Tennessee, and like most Appalachians, I absolutely love greens and vinegar.  Old-timers used to boil greens, strain the juice, add red wine vinegar, and drink the “pot liquor.”  I’m not quite that bad, but I love cooked greens, and I love salads with vinaigrette.

I made this vinaigrette dressing with Navidi’s Strawberry Vinegar, olive oil, and salt and pepper.  It was tangy and delicious.  I encourage you to try flavored vinegars yourself this summer – they are so good with peaches, strawberries, or as a marinade for chicken or pork.

Omit the cheese from this recipe to make it paleo and vegan!

Leave a Reply

