Roasted Shrimp and Broccoli

Boo!  I’m ghost writing this post!  Okay, I guess that technically I am not ghost writing this post, but you know what I mean… My husband made this recipe and I have to admit that I did not try it.  The thing is, I just can’t eat shrimp unless it is Bonefish Grill’s Bang Bang Shrimp.  That is a totally different story – one that involves a martini or two.   One of my husband’s coworkers gave him this recipe.  It just happened to be paleo, and it just happened to be fabulous  – according to my spouse.  Try it and see what you think.

Instructions:

1.) Heat the oven to 425 degrees

2.) On a large cookie sheet, toss together

–         2 pounds of broccoli cut into florets

–         2 Tbsp olive oil

–         1tsp whole coriander seeds (or ½ tsp ground)

–         1 tsp whole cumin seeds (or ½ tsp ground)

–         1 tsp salt

–         ½ tsp pepper

–         1/8th tsp hot chili powder

3.) Spread it all into a single layer and pop into the oven for 10 minutes

4.) Meanwhile, toss together

–          1 pound large shrimp, shelled and deveined

–         2 Tbsp olive oil

–         Lemon zest from one lemon

–         ½ tsp salt

–         ½ tsp pepper

5.) When the broccoli’s been in the oven 10 minutes, add the shrimp to the broccoli and toss (carefully).

6.) Roast another 10 minutes, tossing once halfway through, until the broccoli is “tender and golden around the edges”

Leave a Reply

